The church St. Dimitrij (Saint Demetrios) in Bitola was built in 1830, replacing the former burnt chapel from 1726.
Built with special permission of the Turkish authorities, the church supposed to be modest and nondescript building, lower than the surrounding mosques.
Therefore, it was dug into the ground and it was built in just four months with donations from Bitola Christians.
The interior of the church is richly played with fascinating galleries on the second floor, Carved throne, carved iconostasis, and pulpit.
The Iconostasis originates from the middle of the XIX century and was made in shallow carving, later cast and gilded. The belfry originates from 1936 and was the work of Alexander Deroko (Александар Дероко).
Today the church St. Dimitrij is the central church in Bitola, and it hosts the largest number of weddings, christenings and is the central place for all major Christian holidays.